Trust is a Tricky Game

Standard

Trust is a gambling game, and I’m addicted to it. From the moment I meet a stranger, I want to trust them. I want to believe that people are naturally good; I put all my chips on the table. The simple truth is that we can’t be trusted. We are slimy human beings who are always looking to take someone for all they’ve got. In the game of trust, the house always wins. You may be up for awhile, thinking that you’ve found someone who is utterly deserving of your trust, but eventually the house will wipe you clean. You will be left broke, confused and probably pretty pissed off that you deluded yourself into believing you had a fighting chance. Most would get up and walk away, realizing that gambling isn’t for them. But me? I stand up, brush myself off, and head towards the ATM. 

Leave a Reply

